Bloody Elbow nominated for Fighters Only World MMA awards

Bloody Elbow is honored to be among the nominees for the 15th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards

By: Nate Wilcox | 7 days ago

We are honored to be included among the nominees for MMA’s most prestigious awards. Please vote for Bloody Elbow at

World MMA Awards

Rob Hewitt announces 15th annual WMMA awards

Rob Hewitt, Fighters Only CEO, is pleased to announce the nominees for the 15th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards.

The event’s voting website is now live at, where fans around the world can
democratically voice their opinions and cast their vote for who they believe deserves to win.

“I am honoured and excited to have reached a 15-year anniversary with the Fighters Only World
MMA Awards,” said Rob Hewitt. “To see the growth of the sport during that time has filled me full of
joy and this year’s nominees are a true representation of this growth. It is the most international
Awards in our history and this year we will truly celebrate the best of MMA across the globe.”

Vote for your favorite nominees from today until September

With a nomination period between June 1, 2022 and June 30, 2023, the independent Fighters Only
panel searched through all promotions and regions to select the award nominees. Among the most
anticipated award categories include “Fighter of the Year,” “Knockout of the Year,” “Fight of the
Year,” and the recently added “Fighting Spirit Award.”

In true MMA tradition, Fighters Only gives the world’s fight fans the power to vote for their favourite
fighters, knockouts and submissions that amazed them, and which nominees impressed them the
most over the past year to determine who takes home a coveted Fighters Only World MMA Award.
This is the only awards show where fans can have their say and cast their votes through their
desktops, mobile devices, and smartphones at

Voting is now live and will conclude on September 30.

About The Fighters Only World MMA Awards

The Fighters Only World MMA Awards is the industry event for the sport of mixed martial arts and
winners will be presented with their trophy in an unparalleled live event with a full red carpet attended by a who’s who of the combat sports industry and its celebrity fanbase.

The date and venue for the 15th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards ceremony will be
announced in the coming weeks. Please stay tuned for more information and exciting

Here are your nominees for the 15th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards:

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Fighting
MMA Junkie
Bloody Elbow

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

Leon Edwards
Aljamain Sterling
Israel Adesanya
Islam Makhachev
Sadibou Sy

Female Fighter of the Year

Alexa Grasso
Amanda Nunes
Larissa Pacheco
Seika Izawa
Liz Carmouche

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Dricus Du Plessis
Alex Pereira
Ilia Topuria
Sergei Pavlovich
Alexa Grasso

International Fighter of the Year

Leon Edwards
Israel Adesanya
Dricus Du Plessis
Sergei Pavlovich
Sadibou Sy

Fight of the Year

Justin Gaethje vs. Rafael Fiziev (UFC 286)
Dustin Poirier vs. Michael Chandler (UFC 281)
Islam Makhachev vs. Alexander Volkanovski (UFC 284)
Brennan Ward vs. Sabah Homasi (Bellator 290)
Matt Schnell vs. Su Mudaerji (UFC on ABC 3)

Knockout of the Year

Leon Edwards vs. Kamaru Usman – Head kick (UFC 278)
Israel Adesanya vs. Alex Pereira – Punches (UFC 287)
Sadibou Sy vs. Shane Mitchell – Spinning wheel kick (PFL 6, 2023)
Krzysztof Głowacki vs. Patryk Tołkaczewski – Punch (KSW Colosseum 2)
Ismael Bonfim vs. Terrance McKinney – Flying knee (UFC 283)\

Submission of the Year

Alexa Grasso vs. Valentina Shevchenko – Face crank (UFC 285)
Louis Glismann vs. Melvin van Suijdam – Inverted omoplata (Oktagon 43)
Islam Makhachev vs. Charles Oliveira – Arm-triangle choke (UFC 280)
Olga Rubin vs. Claire Guthrie – Buggy choke (Invicta FC 53)
Reinier de Ridder vs. Vitaly Bigdash – Inverted triangle choke (ONE 159)

Comeback of the Year

Jon Jones (Career)
Leon Edwards vs. Kamaru Usman 1 (UFC 278)
John Hathaway (Returning from lengthy illness)
Matt Schnell vs. Su Mudaerji (UFC on ABC 3)
Yaroslav Amosov (Returning from war)

Upset of the Year

Alexa Grasso vs. Valentina Shevchenko (UFC 285)
Larissa Pacheco vs. Kayla Harrison (PFL 10, 2022)
Christian Echols vs. Pat Downey (Bellator 289)
Jesus Pinedo vs. Brendan Loughnane (PFL 4, 2023)
Zebaztian Kadestam vs. Roberto Soldic (ONE Fight Night 10)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Eugene Bareman
Mike Brown
Dave Lovell
Ray Longo
Eric Nicksick

Trainer of the Year

Heather Linden
Jonathon Reynolds
Everton Oliveira
Jordan Sullivan
Brandon Gallagher

Gym of the Year

City Kickboxing
American Top Team
Team Renegade
Kill Cliff FC
American Kickboxing Academy

Referee of the Year

Marc Goddard
Jason Herzog
Mark Smith
Herb Dean
Rich Mitchell

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Brittney Palmer
Louise McKie
Brookliyn Wren
Jhenny Andrade
Luciana Andrade

Leading Man

Dana White (UFC)
Scott Coker (Bellator)
Peter Murray (PFL)
Maciej Kawulski (KSW)
Ondrej Novotny (Oktagon)

Best Promotion

Bellator MMA
Oktagon MMA

Personality of the Year

Joe Rogan
Laura Sanko
Chael Sonnen
Daniel Cormier
Jon Anik

Analyst of the Year

Michael Bisping
Paul Felder
Dan Hardy
Anthony Smith
Kenny Florian

Best MMA Programming

Morning Kombat
The MMA Hour
Dana White’s Contender Series
The Anik & Florian Podcast
UFC Embedded

MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani
Aaron Bronsteter
Marc Raimondi
John Morgan
Nolan King

Fighting Spirit Award

Yaroslav Amosov (Adversity – returning from war to unify the Bellator welterweight title)
Steven Ray (Strength – fighting for his family)
Biaggio Ali Walsh (Bravery – helping his community in the face of danger)
Themba Gorimbo (Charity – building a water pump in Zimbabwe and putting others ahead of himself) Chris Barnett (Adversity – overcoming great personal loss and adversity in the cage)

Cast your vote today at!

Join the Bloody Elbow Substack!

Support Bloody Elbow, and get exclusive content.

Share this story

About the author
Nate Wilcox
Nate Wilcox

Nate Wilcox is the founding editor of As such he has hired every editor and writer to work for the site. Wilcox’s writing for BE is known for its emphasis on MMA history, the evolution of fighting techniques and strong opinions. Wilcox developed the SBN MMA consensus rankings which were featured in USA Today from 2009 to 2011. Before founding BE, Wilcox was a political operative working for such figures as Senators John Kerry and Mark Warner and an early political blogger. He is the co-author of Netroots Rising, a history of the political blogosphere from 2003 to 2007. Wilcox also hosts the Let It Roll podcast on music history for the Pantheon Podcast Network.

More from the author

Bloody Elbow Podcast
Related Stories